Only 6 Committees to run in EP elections in Poland

The Electoral Commission registered all the electoral lists and only six of them are registered in the entire country, hence are entitled to mandates, should they meet the 5% threshold in Poland. They are (with the list numbers next to them):

  1. Confederacy KORWiN Braun Liroy Nationalists
  2. Spring of Biedroń
  3. European Coalition – PO, PSL, SLD, .N and the Greens
  4. Law and Justice
  5. United Left
  6. Kukiz’15

No other committee will have candidates in the entire country, including the Polish’ Polexit or the REM – Real Europe Movement.

The Confederacy is a far right coalition. The Spring is a Macron-type new party that most likely will associate itself with the S&D. The European Coalition is the major opposition block of mainstream European parties: PO and PSL belong to the EPP, SLD is a member of S&D, .N is a member of the Liberal Group and the Greens naturally are members of the Greens. Law and Justice is the governmental party and member of ECR. The United Left is left of GUE; they are in a coalition DiEM25 movement. Kukiz’15 is a right wing alternative party; its European affiliation is with the Italian M5S.

The elections in Poland will take place on 26 May. The citizens of the European Union residing in Poland are entitled to vote in the elections, as well as citizens of Poland living abroad.

There are 13 electoral districts. Poles living abroad will vote for the Warsaw district candidates.

There are 52 MEP mandates allocated to be chosen in Poland; however if the Brexit does not take place before 26 May there will be 51 MEPs elected in Poland.

Leave a Reply